Improving Access to Scholarly Content and Services: Authorization and Authentication for Library Subscriptions

Event

Title:
Improving Access to Scholarly Content and Services: Authorization and Authentication for Library Subscriptions
When:
Tue, 9. June 2020
Where:
Online - , Webinar
Category:
Online Course / Webinar

Description

Improving Access to Scholarly Content and Services: Authorization and Authentication for Library Subscriptions

TUESDAY, June 9, 2020 – 1:00pm EDT | 12:00pm CDT | 11:00am MDT | 10:00am PDT

 

sem

Federated access to scholarly content and services for campus users is more important than ever. Campus stakeholders have vested interested in seeing this done well, but often use different language and focus on different aspects of the technology.
This webinar will highlight how different groups on campus are approaching support for users and how the scholarly communications industry is using technologies like SeamlessAccess, and GetFTR to enable user access.
Speakers:
 
  • Lisa Janicke Hinchliffe, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign - Lisa is Professor as well as Coordinator for Information Literacy Services and Instruction in the University Library and Affiliate Professor in the School of Information Sciences at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Her responsibilities encompass instruction programs for library users and professional development for library staff and faculty as well as campus outreach and collaborations related to teaching and learning. Lisa has consulted, presented, and published widely on the scholarly communications, publishing, the value of libraries, strategic planning, organizational innovation, emerging technologies, program evaluation, library assessment, inclusion and equity, information literacy, and teaching and learning. Website: lisahinchliffe.com, Twitter: @lisalibrarian, and ORCID: 0000-0002-5129-4235.  
  • Ralph Youngen, ACS Publications - Ralph is Senior Director, Digital Strategy and Business Integration at the American Chemical Society, where he is responsible for ACS Publications’ content delivery and peer review platforms.  Ralph has held key roles in several recent industry-wide initiatives aimed at supporting the scholarly research community. He is past Co-Chair of RA21, a member of the SeamlessAccess governance committee, one of the founders of GetFTR, and a member of STM’s Standards and Technology Executive Committee. 

https://connect.acspubs.org/GetFTRWebinar 

 


Venue

Location:
Online - Website
State:
Webinar
Country:
India